Weekly Federal COVID-19 Updates

Week of May 11

Week of May 25

Week of June 18

Federal COVID-19 Legislation

H.R. 6201, Families First Coronavirus Response Act

The legislation guarantees free coronavirus testing, establishes paid leave, enhances Unemployment Insurance, expands food security initiatives and increases federal Medicaid funding.

CSG Summary of Congressional Package, H.R. 6201

CSG policy analysts summarize legislation and provide a breakdown of what states need to know.

Federal Agency Resources

Primary Points of Contact for State Officials

U.S. Department of Health & Human Services: Darcie Johnston
(Phone – 202-690-1058 / Email – darcie.johnston@hhs.gov)

U.S. Department of Homeland Security: Cherie Short
(Phone – 202-893-2941 / Email – cherie.short@hq.dhs.gov

U.S. Department of State: Bill Killion
Phone – 202-647-7595 / Email – killionw@state.gov

U.S. Department of Transportation: Sean Poole
Office – 202-597-5109 / Cell – 202-366-3132 / Email – sean.poole@dot.gov

U.S. Department of Education: Susan Falconer
Phone – 202-320-6837 / Email – susan.falconer@ed.gov

U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs: Thayer Verschoor
Phone – 202-461-7385 / Email – Thayer.verschoor@va.gov

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency: Britt Carter
Phone – 202-440-0728 / Email – carter.brittanys@epa.gov

U.S. Small Business Administration: Ryan Lambert
Phone – 202-615-6570 / Email – ryan.lambert@sba.gov

U.S. Department of Agriculture: Lillie Brady
Phone – 202-845-3872 / Email – lillie.brady@usda.gov

 

Aid Available from the Coronavirus Relief Fund

(by jurisdiction)

$0 – $1.9 Billion

$2 – 2.99 Billion

$3 – 3.99 Billion

$4 Billion +

District of Columbia — $0.50 billion

Puerto Rico — $2.24 billion

Other Territories — $0.26 billion

Tribal Governments — $8.00 billion

Sources: CARES Act; Tax Foundation calculations.

Table 1. Aid Available from the Coronavirus Relief Fund (by jurisdiction)