Update: State Actions on Remote Legislative Participation

By Sierra Hatfield, CSG Policy Analyst

Executive Summary

This update expands upon previous posts on remote participation in the legislature to provide a current snapshot of plans for remote participation across all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

Table 1 summarizes the types of remote participation utilized by each state.  Changes marked with strikethroughs (x) show outdated information while triple x’s (xxx) show current information.  States continue to prefer to at least allow participation by tele-means, such as telephone or teleconference.  Previously only 10 states did not use remote participation in the legislature, although that list is now expanded to 11 as the Arizona legislature voted to end remote participation last week.  It was the only state to be updated this week.

Type of Remote Participation by State (updated March 1)

State NoneUndecidedBy ProxyBy Tele-meansBy VideoBy Other Electronic Means
AL     x
AK    x 
AZ     x
ARxxx x   
CA x    
CO x    
CT   x  
DE   xx 
D.C  x   
FL x    
GA     x
HI   xxx
IL x    
IA x    
KS x    
KY  x xx
LA   x x
MA   xxx
MI     x
MN    xx
MO x    
MT x    
NE x    
NV   xx 
NJ   x x
NM   x x
NY   xx 
NC  xxx 
ND   xx 
OH   xxx
OK  xxx 
OR x    
PA  xx  
RI x    
SC x    
SD   x x
TX x    
UT   xxx
VT x    
VA x    
WA   x  
WI   x  
WY     x

State by State Updates

AR – Arkansas

Legislative Session Dates: 01/11/21 – 03/12/21

Consideration of Remote Participation:  None

The Arkansas Senate voted to end remote participation after a heated exchange between lawmakers.

This analysis was last updated March 1, 2021. If you have additional information or would like to update the information for your state, please contact Sierra Hatfield via email at [email protected].